Tripod Advice

Acidbraker

Lil-Rokslider
Hey folks, so I'm new to the spotting scope thing. There is a Cronus 12-36X50 in the mail from a member here. I have a low budget tripod that came in a package deal that I infrequently use with my dslr. I'm looking for advice for a sturdy tripod for the little spotter, something that won't break the bank. It'll be used for hunting, birding, and showing the offspring the moon and stars. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

grfox92

WKR
You mentioned not breaking the bank so this is along those lines. There are certainly better options out there so take it for what it's worth.

I use a tripod from Amazon called the Ranger.

It was $69 when I bought it. All aluminum, not too heavy, comes with a ball head that performs great for my 10x42 Mavens.

I know it might not be best for a heavy spotter, but there are tons of tripods like the Ranger on Amazon that IMO are just as good as higher end ones for a fraction of the money.

This is basically the same tripod under a different name and it's rated to 17 lbs. Might be worth a look.
129010b6339f3ad1c21341a92d9bc1ac.jpg

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

OP
Acidbraker

Acidbraker

Lil-Rokslider
I thought I read someplace that a ball head was not good for a spotter. I'd like to keep my budget around or less than $150 or so. The spotter is only 27oz, but the sturdier the better.

I would recommend slik sprint pro 2. It’s not the sturdiest for spotting but you can hang some weight off it to make it better

Oohmatron

FNG
Buy a tripod to match the quality of the scope. There is no point losing acuity from a wobbly, unstable, flimsy support. Ask any serious photographer - their advice would be the same. So many people buy three or four tripods of increasing quality before they recognise this - and end up spending more than just buying the good one first. Gitzo, RRS, ProMediaGear are excellent tripods.