Tripod set up

Tradchef

WKR
Guys,
I’m new to the tripod game. Or should I say late to the game. I’ve got a pair of SLC 10x42‘s on the way and I’d like to see what’s out there for tripods and adapters etc..,do I need the swaro adapter or are there others to look at?

scott

amack26

Lil-Rokslider
There are a lot of options available now, Outdoorsman's makes a really good set up that will be similar in price to the swaro adapter. As far as tripods go you can run 10x42's off most any tripod and have stability. If you are anything like most on here the 10x42's seem to multiply into 15x56's and a spotter. If you intend to use the bigger glass you may want to get a sturdier tripod right out of the gate. I upgraded my tripod with each set of glass that I bought and ended up paying twice as much as I would have if I just bought my current set up. Currently I have sirui t024sk legs with a sirui VA-5 head for backpacking or when I know I am going to be hiking in to an area. The other tripod I use is the Manfrotto 290 extra carbon with a Sirui VA-5 head on top. The manfrotto is taller and when not fully extended more stable , at 6'7" I can glass standing up. The Sirui legs are light weight and compact but stable enough that you can glass with a spotter at 45x. For reference I am using the Swarovski SLC 10x42 15x56 and a Zeiss Diascope 65mm. These tripods both perform very well with this line up of glass. Hoping to get an 80+mm spotter soon but I have no doubt that these systems would work just as well for that.

Last edited:
We have a lot of great tripods. Give me a call and mention Rokslide for special pricing. We have tadapters at a fraction of the cost of Swarovski that you can use
Joel
516-217-1000

pirogue

WKR