Tripods

kabarNC

FNG
I'm new to this forum, my background is more precision rifle matches and long range steel shooting than hunting. A good tripod at these events are invaluable to glass and shoot off of.

I looked a bit (probably in the wrong section) for some info on here, on what I could take on a backcountry mule deer hunt, most likely backpacking, and didn't find a lot.

Is it popular to carry, in a scenario like stated above, a tripod that can pull double duty as a glassing/shooting platform, or is the weight penalty not worth it? I'm thinking of something down the lines of an RRS or Feisol setup with leveling base and arca-type adapters on spotter and rifle. Pros and cons?

Turkeygetpwnd38

WKR
Classified Approved
Not worth it. Would venture to say most people on here that pack in and out would agree. If hunting somewhere where you will be riding a quad in or something, sure, why not, but if carrying everything on your back, more beneficial to not have that extra weight or put it towards something more vital. Also, shooting off tripod isn't that great of an option in the first place in the backcountry. Spot and stalk is usually across broken, uneven ground and at times your window is short. Tripod requires substantial set up time, getting it out, leveling it up, making sure correct head is on. Plenty of other better and faster options such as shooting prone, off pack, Javelin bipods, bracing against tree, buddies back, etc.

work765

WKR
Following this. I carry a tripod with me when hunting.

Curious to see what others have to say

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've wondered this as well becuse I have a tripod for binos and a bipod for shooting but I dont bring both packing in. My tripod for glassing is a Vortex high country that I feel would be both flimsy and cumbersome for setting up to shoot from - even if i found a convenient way to quickly transition from glassing to shooting mode.

OP
kabarNC

kabarNC

FNG