Truck camping sleeping pad

louisianahunter

Lil-Rokslider
I'm new to hunting out west and planning a mid October mule deer hunt and trying to save money where possible considering it's a lot of gear I'm investing in. Anyone have any recommendations for sleeping pad when tent camping out of the truck? I don't need the most lightweight option because I'm not backpacking in so I figured I could get creative and save some money. Also being from Louisiana and going to Wyoming I'm nervous about how cold it'll get so I want something with at least an R value of 4.
I've seen on here people recommend air mattresses or foam mattress toppers in these situation but I'm just not sure they're actually that insulating. Anyone have experience with that cause it could be a good option.
Thanks for any help!
Otherwise two I was looking at:

In mid October the weather will be getting cooler and there is always the chance of snow. I've used an air matress with a few blankets on top of it and then a good sleeping bag and have been fine during a Montana November. Camping at the truck really let's you get away with not so stellar gear in my experience. I would just get the pad you want, and then bring some extra blankets.

And FYI, many of us will not support Dicks Sporting goods after what they did with pulling AR15s from their shelves and all their virtue signaling. There are other places who are more pro 2A to spend your money.

JRMiller

WKR
Honestly for truck camping i just use the standard Intex single air mattress with a heavy blanket on top. Its like sleeping at home.

swanny

Lil-Rokslider
Another vote for the EXPED MegaMat. Or if you want to save a few bucks for an extra tank of gas, the DeepSleep 7.5 is a solid option as well. Both come in MW (26x72) and LXW (30x78) sizes depending on truck bed size.

Jimss

WKR
I use my old tried and true air up Thermarest or possibly neoair. I like my neoair the best and it's super light and packable for extended backpack trips.

Clovis