Trying to figure out What happened y'day.

TheGDog

WKR
2nd set y'day... kinda caught me by surprise! Within like 30-45 seconds after I started playing the caller, one came in hot!

Where he came in from, at the right-hand edge of my FOV, he crossed an open space of about something like 10ft., then where were two low pieces of brush (see attached pic).

Before playing caller, I typically place rifle/tripod such that I can easily see the MOJO in the scope.

He crossed that little space fullsteam, and I was expecting him to exit out the other side of the two pieces of brush there... but then..... nothing.

Upon seeing him, about when his head and shoulders were behind the first bush, I did reach up and slightly move over the tripod so I'd be more pointed towards those two bushes, rather than the open space.

So best I can figure... either.. my body tensed up and moved slightly upon seeing him maybe, and he possibly spotted that?
...OR...
when I moved the tripod over... I think there was a lull in the sound playback... so maybe he heard my clothing?
...OR...
The MOJO spooked him?

Kind of thinking I should have not bothered with the tripod since this opening area is not very big.

So anyhoo... then I'm holding on those two bushes... and since he didn't come out the other side.. my thought was he's contemplating it on the other side of those bushes... so paused sound, then hurried changed it over to a certain Pup distress sound. Sitting at the ready all super tensed up.. and then......nothing.

Not sure but think I later on saw some movement between the bushes and the juniper line, slightly left of the center of this pic.

So he must have retreated going directly away from me toward that Juniper that is directly behind those two bushes. It's the only thing I can figure that makes sense.

I just don't get how he busted me though. That I recall the wind was coming at my face at an angle from the direction he entered in from.

Thoughts?
2nd_set_FOV - Annotated.jpg