Turkey choke dilemma

km10

FNG
I was hoping to get some advice on what choke would be best for my turkey setup.

I’ve got a 12 gauge browning cynergy wicked wing, and some federal grand slam 3” #6’s.

I’ve looked at carlsons, jebs, kicks, and browning chokes. I’m not really familiar with the constriction ranges for the different sizes of shot, and it’s been a bit confusing trying to figure it all out. I’d just like to be deadly at 35-40, I’m not looking to shoot 70 yards. I can also buy different ammo and shelf the slams, I just like how cheap they are.

Basically, I’d just like some advice on what chokes you guys would suggest based on constriction, quality, performance with lead, etc. Thanks for your time.

I’m no expert, but I really like full chokes and a duplex load. I don’t shoot them flying, just aim for the face.

Gmr777

Lil-Rokslider
I use a dedicated turkey choke, typically extra full. Have heavy shot brand and carlsons I believe. With a 3” turkey load they really make headshots easy and turkeys drop on the spot. Turkey chokes keep your patterns tighter which can help stray bbs from getting in your meat. Personally like Remington nitro turkey shells have had great success in my guns.

UA_Blake

FNG
I’m sure there are a lot of good options but what I use is an Indian Creek. I killed a Turkey at 55 yards stone dead last year with a 20 gauge and federal TSS.

dtrkyman

WKR
Generally speaking larger shot sizes would work better with more open chokes. Constriction needs to based off initial bore size, IE an over bored barrel will have a larger internal diameter than a standard barrel.

Some browning's are back bored or over bored, I believe the cynergy is one of them. I would look at a .670 constriction tube, with most modern turkey loads that ill get you 40yds, no worry about 70 yds cuz those shells will never get you there!

Brands of choke is a whole other can of worms, on a budget Primos tight wad and carlsons, high end Indian Creek, Jeb's Sumtoy.