Turkey Decoys

am10nxw

FNG
I'm new to Turkey hunting.

How important are Turkey decoy? If you didn't have any would you still go hunt turkey? Would it be pure luck to hunt without them?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

fatlander

WKR
Decoys certainly have their place.

Do you need them? Not at all. Many more turkeys have been killed without decoys than with them.

It’s all situational. If you’re hunting a large field or very open area you may have to have them. A turkeys eyes are his best asset. If he can’t see you from 100 yards in the wide open, he’s not going to come 80 more yards closer to not see you.

In thick country, you don’t really need them. By the time the turkey is to a point he could see the hen, he’s already dead.

If you’re getting decoys a quality 1/4 strut Jake and upright hen would be my purchases, in that order. Gobblers will come to fight the jake.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

vanish

WKR
Archery hunting is much more difficult without them, but I find in most gun situations that you might burn yourself making the extra movement to set up a decoy when you could have just killed the bird without.

As stated above, no you don't really need one. A few years ago I walked across a wide span of open ground, sat on the edge of a gully with oak brush & timber , called and bam gobble from the open ground I just walked. Gobble again then stopped and then there he was looking right down my barrel, bam! (y)

OP
A

am10nxw

FNG
I'm using a shotgun hunting in mountains, mostly forest. I've got a box call, some camo, and the hiking gear I need. It seems like I can put off buying decoys until next year.

vanish

WKR
I just saw you're in CO. Definitely don't need decoys for the mountain birds. You can often use the terrain to close within 60 yards and still be out of sight of the bird. I'd much rather be lighter and more mobile anyway, as finding them has been the hardest part for me.