WTB UL Pocket binos

ericacymcdonald

Lil-Rokslider
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
No personal experience but I've been researching the same thing for 2021 and keep ending up at Sightron SII Blue Sky 8x32

OP
ramsdude47
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
I should have specified but by UL/pocket I’m looking at 28 and under on the objective.

And the New open box price on those Zeiss Terras is $275 (EBay) so that’s a soft upper limit on budget.

Last edited:

Hoodie

WKR
Rating - 100%
11   0   0
No personal experience but I've been researching the same thing for 2021 and keep ending up at Sightron SII Blue Sky 8x32

I just bought a pair of these this week to use for a beater/truck bino. There was a crazy long thread on birdforum with people raving about them and I had to try them out.

They were $167 on Amazon.

Unbelievably good for the price. I'd put them up against almost anything I've tried in the $500 and under range. I keep looking through them and my Monarch HGs and you would have no clue the Nikons cost 8x as much.

No dielectric coatings, no ED glass. I have no clue how they got these things to be as sharp as they are.

For under 200 bucks you can't go wrong with them. They have got to be the absolute best bang for buck value in binoculars.

Lens covers are hilariously bad though. Not that I care for $167.

Hoodie

WKR
Rating - 100%
11   0   0
I've heard good things about the image quality on the Maven C2, but the FOV on the 7x is 341 ft. A lot of 8x32s will give you around 420ft for 5-7oz more. Which is not insignificant when you consider the C2 is 12.4 oz.

I realize you said weight was your top priority, but it does come with drawbacks.

If you're set on 28mm objective size and under I'd stick to the lower magnifications. I think 7x28 is probably a lot more useable for most people than 10x25. An exit pupil of 2.5 is going to make eye placement critical and low-light performance is going to be poor.

OP
ramsdude47
Rating - 100%
13   0   0