Upcoming DIY Hunt Idaho Unit 49

Hello all, I am new to Rokslide and have been obtaining a ton of info from all of you!
I have an upcoming trip to Idaho to hunt mulies the last week of October.

My questions:
Any advice on e-scouting? Elevation, land features, etc.
Gear recommendations. I am working on my clothing list. Still need sleeping bag. Any gear ideas would be appreciated.
Any advice from anyone familiar with the unit would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance!

Calbuck

WKR
First word of advice would be to not name the unit you’re going to be hunting in. I’m guilty of having done this in the past and people generally don’t want to get too specific about things when that issue is present. Things like that are better left to private messages. Live and learn..

OP
B
Thank you for the heads up. Definitely not asking for specific spots. Just looking for tips on how to e-scout, what elevation bands to target, etc. Thanks again!

huntnful

WKR
Don’t know about the unit. But look for old burns. Hunt the top edge of the highest timbered/burned areas. High rocky features at the top edge of the timber line are a bonus. Pick an area with several good glassing vantages within short distances of each other and plan on moving to each other throughout the day. You can’t kill what you don’t see. Even create a plan that involves moving camp every day if you’re not seeing anything. Don’t commit to one camp area for 7 days. You don’t know it deer are even living in that area. Plan on being able to pack up and move 1+ miles at a time if needed.

huntnful

WKR
7DBF149F-D930-4BE3-AAA8-A69F4949DE48.jpegI killed a buck right at the base of that rocky feature. Literally dropped a pin on it during e scouting, drove 1000 miles, packed in 9 miles and killed a buck on day two. Shoot be a pretty good visual of what I’m talking about.
43E6AE6A-922C-479D-B5DB-93206DD6CEEA.jpegThis is how he was when I glassed him at 3:00 in the afternoon, after moving camp 1.5 miles that morning.