UPDATE!! Montana constitutional carry bill & the I'm pro 2A but" crowd.

Wvroach

WKR
To those unaware Montana state legislature is trying to enact constitutional carry legislation currently and it is being meant with fierce opposition. Including Kimber's former VP. I do not live in the state but thought I would share my opinion (for what it is worth). This will be a bit long winded for those willing to stay.

I'll preface this saying I am a firearms instructor as well who makes profit off of teaching concealed carry classes among other things to students. So I have a vested interest in having students come to train and receive certification before getting their permits through the state.

I fully support constitutional carry, I do think training should be sought after but in no way shape or form should it be a requirement. Individual responsibility should dictate what you need to do not government bureaucrats. I also live in a recently enacted constitutional carry state.

Whenever it was passed through my home state just as many of the other 15 states with constitutional carry legislation it was meant with fierce opposition from both the openly anti gun crowd as well as the "pro 2a but" crowd with all the typical mumblings about "it'll be like the wild west", "shootings on every corner", "think about the children" and all the other mantra that goes along with it. None of that happened and violent crime has decreased.

This needs addressed though it is bad enough we have to fight the antis without having to fight our supposed supporters as well.

Self defense is a right granted to us by God and the only reason we have a constitution is to prevent government overreach it is prescriptive for what bounds authorities have to govern within, not for what we are limited in as citizens.