Virginia gun laws

Shupe88

Lil-Rokslider
Are you referring to the new laws that Gov. Northam is trying to pass?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Shupe88

Lil-Rokslider
He is wanting any firearm that holds over 10 rounds to be illegal to purchase. Want all firearms registered. There will be a grandfather clause that allows someone who already owns that style of firearm to keep it. But it cannot be sold,traded or handed down. Several counties are becoming sanctuaries for firearm owners. Supposedly the law enforcement in those counties want enforce any new gun laws. We shall see!

Shupe88

Lil-Rokslider
The laws will be passed. So if the people keep there word it could get crazy down here in the weeks to come.

Sorry for the long post but I live at ground zero.

I'm not a political expert by any means but I've been studying VA's politics and this is complicated. The Rs have held the House and Senate for a long time. For the first time in decades we have a D House, Senate, and governor. This is largely because northern VA has continued to built out from the Washington DC suburbs and the rest of us in the state are simply getting outvoted. (No different than CO's front range dominating the rest of the state's politics)

A handful of districts didn't even have a R Delegate or Senator on the ballot. Which makes sense because in the Washington DC area a R doesn't stand a chance of being elected. Conversely, in most rural areas a D wouldn't have a chance of getting elected either.

It is clear that the Ds want to push gun control laws on the entire state and that they have the votes to do it if they stay the party line. It is interesting that Ds in Virginia don't band together like the Rs do, but for gun control they are very likely to stay the party line.