VX5HD Horror Stories True???

nobody

WKR
Happy Monday 'Sliders!

As the post above, I'm curious if all the horror stories are really true. I had a Viper HSLR 4-16x44 SFP on my 7 mag for a couple of months and traded it off for a VX5HD in 3-15x44 CDS ZL2 on Saturday. I never really loved the Viper, and a coworker had the Leupold that he was willing to part with in exchange for the Viper and a bit of cash. All in all, between what I paid for the Viper and the cash I gave him, I've got about $500 invested in it. So I felt like I got a pretty good deal! I've been using a VX3i on my Creedmoor for about 4 or 5 years now with zero complaints or issues so I was excited to have something with similar bloodlines on my other rig. Mounted it Saturday in Warne Mountain Tech rings on a 20 MOA rail and went out yesterday to sight it in. Sighted right in and shot a couple of 0.75" groups. I was happy! And then came the internet...

I'm not planning on redeeming the "coupon" for the free CDS dial, I'm just going to use it as a regular exposed elevation turret. But I'm curious, I've read lots of horror stories about tracking issues with these in the past 12 hours or so, are they really as bad as they seem? To me, if they really sucked as bad as the internet makes it seem, Leupold would be out of business already. Do the VX5's and 6's really have that many issues with reliability and durability? Do they really actually randomly lose zero all the time and adjust randomly? Or are there people out there who use them who still actually use and love them? I'm starting to wonder if I made a mistake and didn't really get an upgrade like I thought!