VXR 31.5" Tuning Tips

JBahr

Lil-Rokslider
I did it, I bit the bullet and picked up a new VXR 31.5". I shot it against multiple Hoyts, a Prime, the new PSE's and a Bowtec. It was right for me.

It's been 17 years since I purchased a new bow. I worked in archery shops all throughout high school and college and picked up my last hunting bow (Hoyt Razortec) in 2003. That being said things have changed a lot since I was really plugged into the archery world.

I am new to all the new cam tuning with the new yoke styles. I know how to time the cams but beyond that I have no experience. I will be putting a ripcord rest on the bow and am shooting a 575 grain arrow properly spined for the bow.

Any tips on where to center the rest? How to tune once I've shot the new GAS strings in a little bit?

I haven't seen any threads on this and thought it might be helpful to others as well.

Thanks in advance!

MattB

WKR
Based on what little I know, I would set the top cam straight up and down and the arrow level and through the berger button and go from there paper tuning/bare shafting/BH tuning.

Congratulations on your new bow purchase. You picked a good one.

With a Mathews you will want the center shot set at roughly 13/16” off the riser and then you have to adjust the top hats if not paper tuning or bare shaft tuning good. No yoke tuning on Mathews.

When I set mine up, I ran the center shot so the arrow was running right down the center of the limbs bolts when viewed from above, I think Mathews recommends 13/16 from the riser. The rest height was set with the center of the arrow running through the center of the Berger hole. Nocking point was dead level.

First shot was a bullet hole. I know you hear that a lot when people talk about new bows, but that has never happened to me before with any bow brand. I checked the tune with a walk back tune also and that was right on as well.

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk

OP
JBahr

JBahr

Lil-Rokslider