Wasshington High Buck hunt?

Jason277

WKR
Hello all, I have been hunting Blacktail for the last three years on the westside of Washington with really awesome success . I got into hunting a bit later in life at the age of 40. I have been kicking around the idea of a high buck hunt in Washington. Just curious about your guy's experiences. Not looking for specific info on an area but the pros and cons of the High Buck. Also thinking about hiring a packer to get dropped off. Has anyone done this? Thanks, Jason

Bear7771

FNG
Depends what you’re expectations are. Do you need to fill a tag? Or are you happy with a great experience and no tag filled? It doesn’t have a high success rate but you’ll be in some beautiful country. I prefer hiring someone to pack a good camp in. Packers will usually take you 12 miles in for the regular rate. Any more than that and it costs them an extra day. 24 miles round trip is a long time on a horse! We had a packer take us 12 miles and set up our wall tent then we hiked up 3000’ and slept under a tarp for a week since the weather was nice. It does fairly often snow up there in September though. I’d highly recommend the experience.

RFOUST89

Lil-Rokslider
5-10 years ago this hunt was awesome. Now everyone does this hunt, no matter how far you go in there’s gonna be somebody further in. Guys camp in basins and saddles that deer use. Not sure how many times I’ve hunted an area only to have someone walk right through. On another note it’s gorgeous country, there are deer there , I’ve seen some terrific bucks in the wilderness. This still is one of my favorite hunts to do but have realistic expectations it is a tough season to hunt.

OP
Jason277

Jason277

WKR
Does it sound like it used to be a lot better? Just too many people out there. With all the different wilderness areas you would think you get away from people .

RFOUST89

Lil-Rokslider