Water Hole Advise

WVELK

FNG
I have very little experience setting at water holes for elk. I think I have done it twice in 25-30 years. However, I expect to be at water holes or tanks this year because I am hunting earlier than normal. For those of you that have a experience and success, how about throwing me some tips. The time elk came to a water hole (7-9 elk), I seem to recall them being pretty cautious in the water.

When is a good time to get your bow back. After they have settled some? When they are just about to enter? Some other time?

Spike elk

WKR
I think water really depends on the area. One area that I have hunted has water everywhere. Finding a good trail is much more productive than water. Another area that I hunt water is scarce. Sitting on or near water is money. Actually, had the most luck sitting in a saddle that they move through to get to water. My rule of thumb is drawing at the first good opportunity, you may not get another chance. When I see them coming and are behind a tree or other obstacle. It sucks to have them in your lap but not being able to draw.

Scoutman

FNG
I hunt water alot every year as my chosen unit is very dry this year is no exception so far. I let conditions dictate drawing etc. If your in a tree, your golden. If on ground, make good hide and draw from behind it, etc. Just use same principles you use if you deer hunt. Food for thought, the elk in my area, seem to have a 3 day pattern so to speak. So if I see them in a valley one day, they usually are in next valley next day and so on. I hunt near alot of private so that might be why they do it? Point being as we usually sit a waterhole for 3 sits before we give up on it and move on.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Water is deadly in the right areas a couple thing's I'd mention.

1. A tree is much better than the ground. In a tree, you can pretty much do anything without getting busted. It would take alot for them to look up at you, alot.