Weather Sealed

HuntnID

FNG
So Im in the market for mirrorless camera. Im completely new to the camera world and mainly want it to get higher quality hunting and landscape photos to give a bit more justice to the areas our hobby takes us. How much of a priority should weather sealed be? I was looking at the Olympus EM10 M3 but don't know if it would be better to pony up and go to something weather sealed?

Ive seen some videos where they dog on weather sealed and others that rave about it.

I went through the same conundrum and in my research the general consensus was anything short of submersion is really unlikely to affect anything. I don’t worry about it. I’ve taken an a6000 out when I probably shouldn’t have dozens of times and it’s been fine. Obviously there’s a nonzero chance for a water droplet to just perfectly hit the perfect crevice on your camera and get into the worst place possible and actually cause problems but it’s unlikely. I do try to avoid letting my creative juices flow during a monsoon though.

The very simple answer is, do you want to be able to take pictures no matter what the weather?. If your answer is yes then you just answered your own questions. When you step up to the Olympus all weather models, starting at E-M5 Mark II, the feature set increases as well. You are getting more then just the all weather feature.
There is no downside, despite people leaving reviews to the contrary

So Im in the market for mirrorless camera. Im completely new to the camera world and mainly want it to get higher quality hunting and landscape photos to give a bit more justice to the areas our hobby takes us. How much of a priority should weather sealed be? I was looking at the Olympus EM10 M3 but don't know if it would be better to pony up and go to something weather sealed?

Ive seen some videos where they dog on weather sealed and others that rave about it.