Weatherflow vs Kestrel

Vandy321

WKR
I'm on the fense between a weatherflow and a used kestrel 4500 or so. Just want basic atmpspherics and wind for field use.

Seems one benefit to the weatherflow is it will bluetooth directly to the AB app, where the 4500 Kestrel I have to hand jam the #'s (really only saves me a few seconds, not a huge issue).

Has anyone compared both, is the output data fairly similar? For half the price of a used Kestrel, if weatherflow can hack the basics, I'm nor sure why I wouldnt go that route.

Dont see alot of folks talking about them though, which inherently sews doubt in its performance.

lintond

WKR
I got a weather flow due to the price delta and I’ve been happy with it however I’m a newbie when it comes to LR shooting.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Muleyslayer14

Lil-Rokslider
My recommendation would be a kestrel 2500 they are new on amazon for $150ish. It does all of the environmentals I need. I don’t have much time behind it yet, but so far so good. No experience with anything else.

hayesplow

Lil-Rokslider
I had a weatherflow and found the readings to be off when compared to two Kestrels, as well as not adjust very fast when taking out of my pack or going from a inside a car to outside. Plus, if you have an iPhone 7, you can't pop it on since there is no headphone jack. So you have to fumble with two devices. I ended up selling it and getting a Kestrel Sportsman and haven't looked back. The AB software has been pretty spot on, give or take a .1 of mil. It's too bad that Ballistic Arc doesn't support Kestrel as I like the GPS features on the app.