Welding business opinions/advice

huntnful

WKR
Just don’t get hung up on being “certified” it literally means nothing. It’s not worth the paper it’s wrote on. Find somebody that welds and go to work for them and learn on the job. Get paid to learn it instead of paying somebody to teach you a bunch of stuff that doesn’t apply in the real world. I’ve seen it a hundred times. 99% of those classes are a joke. A real welder can teach you 10x what that class will teach you in a quarter of the time and you’ll be getting paid too.
This man nailed it 100%.

I've been a pipe welder for 12 years now. All X-ray API-1104 for a gas pipeline company. I did however go to school, which was a great starting point, but most schools are trash. Find a small local fab shop that hopefully wants some help, and you'll learn 10X the info in the same amount of time.

If I were to quit my job today, I'd do exactly what you're thinking about doing. Especially if there's a lot of agriculture repair, new business (hand rails), fencing, residential projects available. Certifications are over-rated, they just sound good. I'd venture to say you could make $100k full time are a local fab welder, and if you want to get into the pipelines, union or non union, $200k. But it wouldn't be worth the travel and headache for me to chase the pipelines at this point. I'd rather be home and happy in my shop building random stuff for nice local people. You could make more money having a shop and being mobile as well.

I need to do the hummingbird. I've done a flower or two. My son does the fire pokers
If you got old spark plugs they make great bodies for them.

Here's some more random ones. The penguins and reindeer could be fun to make with your kiddo.
I always get inspired when I see what other guys make.
I horde chainsaw chains, and all sorts of scrap since I started this LOL

Edit: sorry for the thread derail, but I guess when I first started my welding the "business" was art/sculptures.

Attachments