Western pack for whitetail hunter?

st59

FNG
Hey everybody,

I’m new to the whole frame pack scene and wanted to get a few opinions. I mainly hunt white tails out of a hang on stand but also going on about 2 western hunts a year. I’m looking for a pack that can handle both without making huge sacrifices to the tree stand side of things. I’ve tried the mystery ranch pop up and liked it, but really wanting something made in the USA. Not opposed to mr still but looking at all options. Any recommendations?

pdun24

FNG
It depends on how much you're wanting/willing to spend. MR makes a good product at a good price point (especially for 2 trips per year.) Many of these packs are designed and produced for western hunting with very little intention of use in the whitetail woods. You could buy a frame from one of these companies and multiple bags that are compatible, such as the exo k3 frame with the 1800 bag and 4800 bag and that would give you tons of flexibility, but at a very large price tag.

*zap*

WKR
My SG 6200 collapses down so well that I find it ideal and would not want a smaller pack. Really no weight penalty to speak of either.

cap

FNG
Same boat. I currently use the molle straps on my tree stand but its not the most comfortable. I want something that i can put the treestand and sticks in the loadshelf and also haul out meat if needed.

Interested in hearing opinions.

OP
S

st59

FNG
It depends on how much you're wanting/willing to spend. MR makes a good product at a good price point (especially for 2 trips per year.) Many of these packs are designed and produced for western hunting with very little intention of use in the whitetail woods. You could buy a frame from one of these companies and multiple bags that are compatible, such as the exo k3 frame with the 1800 bag and 4800 bag and that would give you tons of flexibility, but at a very large price tag.