What brake for 22" Proof Sendero?

rootacres

WKR
Hello All,

Its a real long story but I finally have a build date for a 22" Proof Sendero CF barrel chambered in 7mm SAUM. What brake do you all like? Id like a self timer of some kind. Thanks

Back before I started shooting suppressed I tried out quite a few brakes (an APA little bastard for one). The one I liked most was the Insite Arms Heathen. It had great recoil reduction but because the first port is 90 degrees it isn't as annoying as the APA. The one I had was actually an aluminum one that they tried selling but it never took off because people don't know aluminum is tough enough for muzzle brakes. It was 1.5oz so basically nonexistent on the end of my muzzle. It also doesn't require a wrench to take on/off like my APA did.

Edit: I did some digging and it looks like they actually do sell a lightweight Heathen brake still. Not sure of actual weight though. If it's like the one I had it's under 2oz. I'll link below.

Last edited:
I went with the Area 419 hellfire because it was less likely to shoot loose based on the design. Easier to time and repeatable zero. just something to think about.

Tullis94

WKR
The TI pro sold on rokslide if your looking for light weight. Muzzle brakes and more self timing if you aren't worried about a few ounces. I prefer the smooth look of these brakes compared to the others mentioned. All mention will be very effective.

madcalfe

WKR
I’m using a pva ultralight jet blast.
It weighs 1.37oz. It’s on my 300wsm with a 20” proof sendero 57% recoil reduction and matches the barrel diameter pretty good

vonb

Lil-Rokslider
I went with the MPA Cowl as it was one of the best for reducing recoil. It was also on off the cheaper ones out there.

Salmon River Solutions

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Hey my name is Ken, I actually manufacture the Ti Pro brakes. If you have any questions you can shoot me a message on here.