What do I need to make arrows?

J.Wells

Lil-Rokslider
Hey guys I’ve been shooting a recurve for a little over two years. I freaken love them and feel as if I’ve got the bug pretty bad lol. I’ve been thinking about getting into making my own arrows or I guess it would technically be “fletching” my own carbon shafts. Anyways what kind of equipment would I need to get started and where’s the best resource for me to actually learn how to do this ? Thanks in advance!!!

Fjtoyman

FNG
I made a whole series on making wood arrows on YouTube. The fletching episode will give you a good basis for Carbon and Aluminum.

There are a lot of jigs on the market. I’ve tried most all of them over the years. You can’t beat a Bitzenbuger for the versatility. They are spendy but will last you a life time.

Don’t hesitate to reach out if you have more questions.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sheepdog

FNG
The minimum to get started would be a blitzenburger jig with the clamp config you want(RW helical, LW helical, straight), bonging platinum fletch-tite, and what ever cut, length, wing and color feathers you like.

*by default I say feathers, but you could use vanes as well.

oldgoat

WKR
A Weston High Speed arrow saw is a nice addition to things mentioned above, it's the most economical and still get a good clean cut, get the one with the vacuum attachment shroud so you aren't huffing carbon dust, then a G5 arrow squaring device is also a nice addition. I highly highly recommend using wraps under the feather, you can buy exact size you need ones from onestringer.com, they sell different widths for different diameter arrows, I actually buy 7" long and whatever width I need and cut them in half since I use short 2.5" feathers, usually gives a good glue bond easier for the feather and less chance of goofing up the shaft wall when you want to refletch.

SliverShooter

Lil-Rokslider