What do you do for exercising when you are getting ready for a hunt?

IDShane

WKR
Hello,
I am fairly new to Rokslide and also to exercising. So far all I have been doing is riding a airdyne bike every other night and sit ups and push ups the opposite night. I have a few hunts this year but neither of them are going to be very strenuous. I still want to continue to get into shape so far I went from 213 to 195 in 4 months. I am just asking what you would recommend for getting into shape and maybe getting a bit stronger and making that leap into mountain shape that much easier. I am 48 years old so I want to make sure to avoid injuries too. Thank you in advance for your input.

Shane

Lil-Rokslider
I like to do a mix of cardio and strength training, with a big focus on single leg work. This summer I've been doing a mix of MtnTough Heavy Pack 2.0 workouts and strength training with weights. It's been awesome. I just turned 56 a couple days ago. I workout every day with my 25 year old son who is a great athlete. I come very close to keeping up with him. A couple of things we do I'm stronger than him and vice versa. He can go a little bit harder than me overall, but the difference isn't huge. I'll count that as a win, given our age difference. I feel like I'm as prepared as a 56 year old flatlander will ever be to hunt this fall.

Check out MtnTough's website if you're looking for training programs. Their stuff is top notch.

Yoga, swimming and bicycle riding, in that order. That's what I advise all of my hunting clients, regardless of age.

rclouse79

WKR
I just did a 15 mile round trip backpack trip into the Sawtooths with my son and his friend. I happened to download the Remi-mtntough podcast mentioned above and listened to it in my tent on the last night. Needless to say the boys were delighted when I told them I would carry out their tent and all the extra food the next morning.