What should I buy?

CDS8034

FNG
Hey all,

I am contemplating the idea of getting into reloading my own rifle ammo. I have done some research so I believe I understand the basics, but a lot more research is needed on my part as I am completely new to this. I see there are some reloading kits available at various stores. Is this a good way to go, or would I be better off buying stuff individually. If so, does anyone have a specific kit or list of items that you would recommend to a newby?i am just trying to determine which brands and what pieces of equipment are recommended from some people with actual reloading experience. Thanks in advance

tdhanses

WKR
Kits are usually a waste, you’ll get stuff that you’ll quickly upgrade.

I got back into it a few years ago and was given a kit, I only use the press from it and am looking to upgrade that at some point.

From there you’ll get many recommendations so best to do your research and then start narrowing down the major components you want, minor stuff you’ll slowly collect as you go.

I would say it depends on what you plan to use your ammo for. You can load some great ammo with kits and I still use the kit my dad and I split 15 plus years ago. Dies I do think you get a lot more out of the higher end you go. Nothing wrong with Lee, RCBS, and Hornady but there is a difference with the dies one step up from the standard $30-40 set. Just make sure the press is not a “C” shape and instead solid metal all the way around with a ram up through. Exceptions would be Forster and Redding T7 as they are plenty strong and rigid. Standard powder measures, beam scales and powder trickler works just fine but is not fast. Get a manual for the bullets you plan to shoot and read it then watch some videos and you will start to figure out what you want and don’t want or can afford.

Why do you want to reload? Cost, precision, fun?

How much free time do you have?

How much do you plan to shoot?