What size spotting scope?

Hello, I'm a newbie here. I have been browsing through a lot of post and trying to get as much knowledge I can get about back country elk hunts. I'm planning on a trip this year or next, and I'm trying to start early and pick up some equipment. I have never had to use a spotting scope where I hunt in Texas. I have been doing a little research on them. What size spotting scope will I most need. The large 20x60-80MM, medium size 15x45-60MM or something even smaller. The 80MM sure seems large for a backpack or drop camp hunt. What size should I be looking for. Thanks

kota

FNG
Were it me, I would look at a good set of binos and a nice tripod first. You can see stuff from a long ways away with binos on a tripod. The best elk hunter I know killed a lot (15ish) of archery bulls on backpack hunts before he ever bought a spotter. IMHO, you also have a lot better glassing experience when you can use 2 eyes instead of 1, particularly if you aren’t used to it.

If you already have that covered, I would favor high power binos over a compact spotter, and step up to a 65mm if you are in fairly open country, plan on glassing a lot and will glassing a long ways. I don’t think you would need an 85mm spotter on an elk hunt. FWIW, I packed a beastly BTX and 85mm objective on some solo backpack deer hunts last year and can’t imagine ever leaving it at home.

BBob

WKR
^^^ I'll agree, great binoculars and a tripod first then a 65mm spotter. I have bigger and we've used twins and BTX but on a pack trip for elk I'd take the 65 pretty much most of the time over the others. Elk are big and far easier to see even at dark dark compared to deer. My favorite compromise scope is a Swaro STM HD 65 w/25x50 eyepiece. There are fans of the little Kowa's but I've never looked through one.