What tactics are you changing this year, that you feel held you back last year?

Im not new to hunting, but this is my first year with a bow. Ive got good gear and I feel real good with my shooting. I've read through past posts and have watched some YouTube videos, but i am wanting input from fellow roksliders.

On the setup/calling/skill side do you believe kept you from being successful in years past? I have made my fair share of mistakes rifle hutning, I just feel this is my weakness going into archery.

Here are a few things I found so far:

*Setting up behind cover instead of in front
*not drawing when the animal couldn't see
*setup behind the "hang up" spot, not before it
*shooting ability from kneeling position
*calling without being ready to shoot
*calling too much/little
*not having a reed in to stop a bull as he enters a shooting lane

Zac

WKR
My biggest fault by far was purchasing the Spot Hogg Wiseguy. Switched back to the Truball HT this year and have already had success.

Maldavis

FNG
Im not new to hunting, but this is my first year with a bow. Ive got good gear and I feel real good with my shooting. I've read through past posts and have watched some YouTube videos, but i am wanting input from fellow roksliders.

On the setup/calling/skill side do you believe kept you from being successful in years past? I have made my fair share of mistakes rifle hutning, I just feel this is my weakness going into archery.

*calling too much/little

Get the ElkNut app on your phone. I think it’s like $10 he has videos and sound segments to answer many of your points above.
Good luck
I’ve also been listening to multiple different podcasts to and from work which are also very informative.
I’m not able to make it West this year but am planning an archery hunt for 21 with my son. Can’t wait to hit the woods with some newfound knowledge, which will hopefully flatten
the learning curve considerably.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited:
OP
5 shot group