What Tips for Long Range Hunting?

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I've been hitting the very basics for someone brand new to the idea of long range hunting, and will continue to do them.

I am also working on a list of items for practical video tips to help the more experienced shooters expand their technique and explain how to use gear. Tripod use will be a significant part of the videos, but wondering if there was anything else Roksliders wanted to see. I will be heading out to do some shooting bullets and video soon, and will include your requests.

Lawnboi

WKR
Not exactly tips, but maybe some drills that guys can participate in, and post results.

Such as this thread

OP
hereinaz

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I like that idea, actually. He makes a good point. I was one of the guys that went to the range, missed three or four times, got dialed in and then said "Look how cool I am". That was early on when I was a newbie. Now, I realize it is the first shot that matters and practice that more.

I have seen it done before, but someone posts up a challenge for the month and people post up their results. That would be interesting.

Ens Entium

Lil-Rokslider
I agree tripod usage would be helpful in particular transition from glassing with binos to rifle ready.

Not sure if it falls within your area of expertise...but shot placement and terminal performance have been of particular interest to me lately.

Some of the long range mechanics can be found out there in terms of other shooting disciplines (PRS/NRL) but from a hunting perspective I feel like terminal performance is only covered in passing (maybe only learned through experience?).

OP
hereinaz

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I agree tripod usage would be helpful in particular transition from glassing with binos to rifle ready.

Not sure if it falls within your area of expertise...but shot placement and terminal performance have been of particular interest to me lately.