When to throw in the towel on a load development

ndayton

WKR
I am new to reloading and have been loading for a 300 winmag using 77gr H1000 and 212gr ELDx, ran a pressure and velocity test without issue to max 77.6 and settled on 77gr for a velocity node. However seating depth test has me frustrated as the best I can get is 1.1 with the norm being 1.5-2.5 moa.
I started .020 off the lands and worked backwards in .010 increments until I was at SAMI spec on COAL, bullet seating depth was measured by the ogive to ensure consistent seating depth.
I don't want to throw in the towel on H1000 as it was hard to get my hands on it and it gives great velocities but when I did the exact same process as above with H4831 the seating depth test was night and day as most groups averaged .5-.8 with the worst being 1.5 moa.
Since H4831 just seems to work with this load and supplies are limited I dont want to waste more shots chasing accuracy unless there is something I am missing or other tricks to try.
Thanks

LaHunter

WKR
Do a search for old posts from Broz. He used to be active on this site and shared a lot of good info on the 300 win mag. He is a good source of real world info. If I recall correctly, H1000 was his preferred powder, as it is for many 300 WM shooters. Maybe your bullet choice is the issue?

4ester

WKR
Do a search for old posts from Broz. He used to be active on this site and shared a lot of good info on the 300 win mag. He is a good source of real world info. If I recall correctly, H1000 was his preferred powder, as it is for many 300 WM shooters. Maybe your bullet choice is the issue?

Broz is still active on his own forum.... Long Range Only

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
ndayton

ndayton

WKR
Are you getting vertical or horizontal spread on groups? What rifle? Twist? Trigger? Shooting history?