Which Pack do I Need?

D.Rose

Lil-Rokslider
For the most part I am an eastern mountain whitetail hunter but would like a pack I could quarter a deer and haul it out with. Treestand hunting would be the primary use with the ability to haul meat. I have looked at the Kifaru Stryker and Mystery Ranch Metcalf and feel like either would be good choices for my use. I have zero experience with high end backpacks and am kind of at a loss. I would like to have a frame that I could attach a smaller pack and then buy and switch to a bigger pack if I ever decide to take an elk trip.

Last edited:
I think teh Eberlestock X2 is a perfect pack for what you are looking for. It is a GREAT whitetail day pack. It can carry anything you might need (treestand, decoy, blind, extra clothes, etc). It can also easily carry broken down whitetail. I have done it many times.

I have also carried moose quarters and caribou quarters with it. But for loads that big, there are way better backs out there.

But for a daypack that can carry out the first load of meat, the X2 is great.

And it can often be found for $150... (sorry. It was available for that price back in the day. Now, it looks like $250 is about the best price)

Last edited:

2ski

WKR
I think you could make due with the MR. You'd be happier with it than the Eberle I think. I didn't find them very comfortable when I tried one on.

For the most part I am an eastern mountain whitetail hunter but would like a pack I could quarter a deer and haul it out with. Treestand hunting would be the primary use with the ability to haul meat. I have looked at the Kifaru Stryker and Mystery Ranch Metcalf and feel like either would be good choices for my use. I have zero experience with high end backpacks and am kind of at a loss. I would like to have a frame that I could attach a smaller pack and then buy and switch to a bigger pack if I ever decide to take an elk trip.