Which route to go

Smash

Lil-Rokslider
So been looking at camera gear and while I would like to spend a few grand I think my wife would kill me. I’m a complete novice and don’t really have any intentions of making a living from this stuff (unless any of you are hiring an apprentice haha).

My priorities at this time lean more toward photos and less toward video but that could change down the road.

Looking at cameras and trying to stay in the 500 dollar range to start.

Trying to determine between a Sony rx100 vs a used lower end dslr/mirrorless. I know that with the dslr I would have more lense options but that opens another can of worms and also feel the point and shoot ability of the rx100 would lend well to a newbie.

Just looking to hear your thoughts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jimss

WKR
You might take a look at Canon SX60 HS. It has a giant 65x optical zoom lens and also takes 1080 HD video. It's larger and a bit heavier than the Sony RX100 but the RX100 only has a 8x optical lens. My SX60 takes great photos and video. The thing I really like about it is the ultra-zoom. I take a lot of photos and video while scouting and hunting. It's great for taking home and viewing on a computer or big screen TV. It's possible to field judge critters that are a long ways out! It actually takes a lot better quality photos than a digi-scope hooked up to my spotting scope. I also take a lot of bird photos with it...which takes an ultra-zoom to get up close and personal.