Which tripod and head

Time to get serious and get some user opinions on tripods and head setups. I’ve never had a tripod and all I hear is how they change your glassing game. Which ones are your favs? I’ve got slc 10x42 and want to get the tripod and head along with a spotter down the road. Outdoorsmans seems to be top of the heap. Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have been running a Sirui T-1204XL tripod. Love it, however I haven’t found a good head for it. But yes, the Outdoorsman heads are supposed to be tops from what I have seen.

Got the outdoorsman this year, phenomenal setup although the nuts in mine started rusting by day 10...need to send that in and see what they say.

I have the standard Pan Head and it works great for my Leica 50x Spotter, but terrible for the binos. My buddies have the pistol grip and it's money, buying one for sure.

DMurphy

FNG
I’m new to the western glassing/hunting world. Is there a bino tripod that also serves as a rifle tripod?

Marbles

WKR
Classified Approved
I’m new to the western glassing/hunting world. Is there a bino tripod that also serves as a rifle tripod?

Any tripod that is stout enough can serve as both. You just have to set up the head to connect to both. You can use a clamp like the PIG Saddle to hold your rifle and put an arca swiss plate on the clamp for fast change out. You could also mount an arca swiss plate directly to your rifle. Or you could use a Spartan Precision Equipment tripod and rifle addapter. Or just get the Spartan Davros head for shooting off of and swap heads. Or even put an arca swiss plate on the Davros head to quickly mount it.

There are other ways to piece it together as well. Sirui makes some tripods that are strong enough to shoot off of. Outdoorsman and Spartan Precision make tripods for shooting off of. FLM makes some bomber carbon tripods that come in under 5 lbs and will support over 100 lbs. Really Right Stuff (RSS) also makes good equipment.