Which weekend of the season do y’all prefer to hit given the choice?

I’m up in the air on how to schedule my pronghorn hunt this year. Colorado season runs Oct 3-11, starts on a Sat. I’ve waited quite a few years to draw this tag, so I want to be picky and spend some time if I can. But unfortunately, I don’t think I can take more than two days off work.

So that leaves me with these options: hit opening weekend Friday night - Tuesday. Or last weekend which would be Thursday - Sunday. I’m a resident, but my unit is about 3.5 hrs away.

The pros cons I think about are bigger bucks available first weekend, but you’ve got to fight the orange army. The second weekend, a good bit of the bigger bucks may have been taken out but it’ll be less crowded and those bucks have been pushed around all week. It’ll be me and 109 other tag members.

What do y’all lean towards on which part of the season to hit? I lean towards last weekend, I’d rather have to hunt harder and walk further if it means I’m not dealing with the orange army. I normally hunt pronghorn in the middle of the week and it’s great, will be the first time I include a weekend this year.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

npm352

WKR
You won't go wrong either way.

Keep in mind number of tags and amount of public in the unit. I have hunted openers in Nevada and Utah and did not see another hunter and covered alot of ground. I hunted 301 in Colorado last year on opener and there were alot of folks, but the season was short. Wyoming opening weekends are often pretty packed, but enough antelope to go around.

You won't go wrong either way.

Keep in mind number of tags and amount of public in the unit. I have hunted openers in Nevada and Utah and did not see another hunter and covered alot of ground. I hunted 301 in Colorado last year on opener and there were alot of folks, but the season was short. Wyoming opening weekends are often pretty packed, but enough antelope to go around.