Why do so many shops do this?

Beendare

WKR
We see it time after time on every archery site.......inexperienced guys chiming in with these noodle-ly underspined arrows....and then- no surprise- they can't get their BH's to group.

What is up with these shops setting these guys up like that? Are they just trying to milk every FPS out of the bow?

All of the experienced guys I know run a shaft thats over spined......or at least if they are close to the edge on a spine size, they go up a size.

I've been running a full spine size over for about 25 years in many bows....and they tune with BH's easily.

HEY SHOPS; All of these modern compounds have shoot through risers that perform well with a stiffer arrow.......if the customer wants to hunt vs straight target shooting....set them up right.

______

Because when a customer goes home and looks up the spine chart it says they should be here....

A lot of those charts are built off of what is safe. Not what is best for hunting. At least Easton runs different charts for target/field archery versus hunting. But in my experience still too weak for a lot of broadheads.

bwlacy

WKR
Most of the shops around here don't know any better. Some kid who thinks it's cool to work at a shop making $10/hour selling things he has no understanding of.

There might be 1 shop on my side of the state that I'd take my bow to, or listen to most anything they have to say.

There just isn't any good shops around here.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
I'll take the counter point. In most of these cases that I see, these guys should have no problem getting those arrows to tune with the weight they're shooting and their draw length. But in some cases as we've seen, guys are shooting arrows 3-4" too long. Shorten the arrows up and they'll shoot fine. Ya, if they want really long arrows and 300gr BH's on the front then ya.......they'll need a stiffer arrow. But most guys can easily shoot 340's and should be able to get them to tune.