Why so light?

Vinny

FNG
Why are so many concerned with lightweight rifles?
I’m relatively new to the scene in this country and I enjoy the posts here but I’m hearing a lot of lightweight this lightweight that. People are willing to spend so much money to reduce the weight of their gear. Isn’t a persons health and ability to carry an extra 2-3lbs weight more important?

So, what’s the weight of your hunting rifle?

grfox92

WKR
Why are so many concerned with lightweight rifles?
I’m relatively new to the scene in this country and I enjoy the posts here but I’m hearing a lot of lightweight this lightweight that. People are willing to spend so much money to reduce the weight of their gear. Isn’t a persons health and ability to carry an extra 2-3lbs weight more important?

So, what’s the weight of your hunting rifle?
No idea what mine weighs to be honest. But I have no idea why someone would want a lighter rifle. When it comes to stability and recoil a heavier rifle is better.

The difference between a light weight rifle and a "heavy" rifle is as you mentioned 2-3 pounds. I rather be in really good shape and not have to worry about if my rifle is 8lbs or 6lbs or if my pack is 30lbs or 26lbs. The whole thing seems trivial to me.

There seems to be a lot of guys out there with a lot of disposable income to spend money on things that don't really have a great bang for there buck.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

CJohnson

WKR
I went on my first elk hunt with the same rifle I’ve used most of my life, a BAR in 7mmRM. My employer bought me a Christensen ridge line as a “bonus” and I took it the following year. Not sure if it’s the weight, or if I just don’t like the ridge line, but if I were hunting during rifle season this year, I’m taking the BAR.

OP
V

Vinny

FNG
Physics is undeniable. Regardless of a person's fitness, the less mass the father they can go.