Wiser Precision 3rd leg work with a spotter?

Remps17

Lil-Rokslider
Hi there,

I am in the midst of a rabbit hole and came across the wiser precision gear. I am going to pick up the quick stix but I was curious if anyone is using the 3rd leg and the clip for there spotter. I am not sure if this setup will take the weight or a tripod and how stable it is. are you guys running your regular tripods heads on this rig or something smaller and lighter?

Thanks.

OP
R

Remps17

Lil-Rokslider
Anyone have experience with wiser precision gear?

Full disclosure: My good buddy and hunting partner is the owner of Wiser Precision and the designer of the system.

I have been using the full system for almost two years with anything from 10x42 binos up to a 65mm spotter and have been very happy with the stability the full Quick-StiX System offers at a sitting height. I would say if you are running anything bigger than a 65mm spotter this may not be the right platform for you. One thing to keep in mind is due to the design there is a little bit of mechanical slip in the interface between the Quick-Clip and the Quick-StiX. Once in the field though you can get the tips of the trekking poles and the 3rd Leg dug into the ground and a very stable platform to glass from. Hope this helps. I can say this system shaved over a pound out of my normal backpacking hunting kit while still offering the functionality of a tall bipod and a lightweight tripod. Feel free to respond here or PM me if you have any specific questions!

j33

WKR
Anyone use this with the Kowa 553? Considering giving this a go, already got the quick sticks....