Wool, what is good for

boonez40

Lil-Rokslider
Friend of mine owns a Sheep farm and asked me yesterday if I wanted the wool from their sheep when they shear them. Apparently there is no money in wool and they just throw it away.

I have racked my head of what in the world would I do with it, maybe shove it in the walls of the chicken coop for insulation?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

What are they raising sheep for if not the wool? Sheep meat doesn’t seem especially popular either.

FLATHEAD

WKR
If you could find a place to process it in to yarn and then
find some Granny Knitting club,,,,I'm thinking beanies,
gloves, vests, etc.....
I have no experience with this, just a guess.

go_deep

WKR
I have wool in my attic for insulation, even has a piece of paper with the quality of the wool and the ranch it came from. I added new blow in on top of it though, seemed to be lacking R value after 30ish years.

mcr-85

WKR
Bag it up and sell it to trappers. It works great for holding bait or lure and has eye appeal for coyotes foxes and bobcats.

Sent from my SM-G981V using Tapatalk

OP
boonez40

boonez40

Lil-Rokslider
Bag it up and sell it to trappers. It works great for holding bait or lure and has eye appeal for coyotes foxes and bobcats.

Sent from my SM-G981V using Tapatalk
Interesting thought

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

What are they raising sheep for if not the wool? Sheep meat doesn’t seem especially popular either.

That's funny.

Market is crazy right now.

I know a rancher who use to say I own cattle for the prestige, I have sheep to pay the bills.

I know some people make archery targets with it. I sell it, depends on the quality of the fleece, but it normally pays the shearing tab.

JeffP_Or

WKR
Heard the same thing; another employee here has alpacas - bails and bails of the stuff, graded and everything. Can't find a market.

hawkman71

Lil-Rokslider
If you could find a place to process it in to yarn and then