Work Boots

lvtuna

FNG
I wear a redwing 866 model. They slip on and the leather insole forms to your feet. I have been wearing this style boot for 33 years. Wedge sole is very comfortable to stand all day. Usually will resole once maybe twice. Pipefitter weldor

Thorogood boots are comfy but the soles don’t hold up. I’m a machinist running big boring mills so chips are everywhere. I had my doubts about the sole from the beginning but the guy at the boot store said they’d hold up. The soles are almost wore out in 3 months. They also say oil/slip resistant and they’re the most slippery boot I’ve ever worn. I’m hoping I can get them resoled easily or replaced under warranty. The leather portion of the boots are top notch but the soles don’t compare.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fire_9

WKR
Been wearing whites for about 10 years now and I won’t wear anything else at work. They’re expensive but I can make a pair last for at least 4 years so cost is a wash especially if you have them rebuilt.

Buzby

WKR
I’ve had a great experience with 4 pair of Red Wing 2406s. They’re completely American made, not to be confused with their garbage imported line. The break in is pretty brutal, but that’s because of the thick leather. I’ve have one pair (resoled) that’s 10 years old. I can get several years out of them, so they come out to be really cheap. I do have a pair of Thorogoods. They use thinner leather, so the break in is much easier. I don’t think the build quality is quite as good, but I do like them.

Go to the White's boots site on the internet. They build some incredible boots. All my father and others wore when he was a line-man. They make more work boots and I'm sure they will have something that would work for you. I bought a pair of Whites Outdoorsman boots uninsulated for hunting that have the Montana Claw lug sole. BEST pair of boots I have ever owned.

Here's one just as an example. Lots of variations/models to choose from.

1649811131171.png

Last edited: