Working on your own bow

cnelk

WKR
Thanks for the great feedback! This gave me the confidence to start. I ordered a rest I'm going to tackle myself along with a bow vise. I'm looking into bow presses next, think I'm just going to start with the bowmaster. I want something I can bring with me on hunts in case something comes up. That's the number 1 reason I'm getting into this.

I have an extra Bowmaster. New in package.
You can have it.
PM me your address

3C30CED2-8AEA-419B-B74F-DED3A165A178.jpeg

I have what amounts to a full shop. Plenty of things that you don't really need. I'm not a huge fan of the portable presses, but I do have a couple for different bows just incase. Either way you need a press that works with your bow to do much of anything. Draw board to me is pretty critical anymore. I'm with @5MilesBack on the bow vise, I just use my press to hold the bow while tyeing nocks, loops, peeps or anything else. I'd rather have the bow horizontal for that stuff than vertical. If I could find a decent vise for cheap I'd have one, but that's something I haven't felt like I needed to spend money on.

In terms of learning? Lot of time, use to read a bunch of the stuff Easton put out. Now there's lots or resources. Having a good shop that doesn't mind helping you is a good asset. They can show you the basic stuff, of course there's youtube now.

That's just for your bow. Whole other mess of things for the arrows, but most important thing there is an arrow spinner. You can get quality arrows made to order, so I think the bow stuff is more important. Hard for someone to tune a bow to you.