Wyoming Commissioners Tag. Looking for input.

fmyth

WKR
Last week I received a call from Jaden Bales from the WY Wildlife Federation to let me know I was the lucky winner of the WY Commissioners Tag raffle. I am super excited but also a little nervous for this hunt. I know it's a once in a lifetime opportunity and I don't want to screw it up. This will be my 5th season hunting elk so I am far from an expert. I've received some direction from a couple of Rokslide members already but am looking for others opinions before choosing a hunt/unit.

Here's what I'm working with:

I am 52 and in reasonable good shape. Far from an athlete but I did spend 42 days hunting in WY unit 21 last year and walked over 150 miles carrying my pack/bow/rifle.

I've killed a raghorn in AZ with my crossbow (shoulder surgery prior to hunt. I am competent with a bow as well)

I killed a spike with my rifle in WY last year.

I have the entire month of Sept and October to hunt.

I will likely be on my own. I have a friend that may be able to hunt a week with me.

I haven't been on a horse in 20 years and don't have 10k to spend for an outfitter or guide (effin Corona Virus has had a major impact on my business and personal finance)

I've never hunted in grizzly country. Black bears don't bother me but I'd be afraid of hunting alone in grizzly country.

I have a 4x4 truck, UTV, everything necessary to base camp and spike out.

I have somehow managed to draw a cow elk tag for the San Carlos Res in AZ for Nov 7-15 and a resident AZ bull elk tag for unit 6a for Nov 27-Dec 3. These were both easy to draw tags so if it came down to it I could burn them.

Based on the above I'm curious to hear your opinions/suggestions.

Last edited:

bsnedeker

WKR
Dude, I got nothing for you but congratulations! That is so cool! You'd better give us some pics after your hunt!

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member