Wyoming Elk Application Strategy

Hey guys and gals, so I have 4 points for elk in Wyoming and I’m a non resident. I’m planning to hunt the General units but should I be putting in the the highly unlikely limited quota units for my first and second choices and then general for my third choice? Does that effect my odds of getting the General tag if I list it as my third instead of my first choice?

Thanks in advance for any help

BDRam16

WKR
You will not get a general tag for anything other than a first choice. They will be LONG gone. With the current point creep, 4 points might not even get you one first choice.

OP
U
So Wyoming completes the first choice draw and then moves to the second and finally third choice draws then? So it’s not the way other western states do it with the random numbers if that’s the case. I think 4 points will be either 100% or very close to that this year. Last year <4 points was 100% draw for general

BDRam16

WKR
So Wyoming completes the first choice draw and then moves to the second and finally third choice draws then? So it’s not the way other western states do it with the random numbers if that’s the case. I think 4 points will be either 100% or very close to that this year. Last year <4 points was 100% draw for general
I only apply in two states and neither of them do it the way you described. In Wyoming they do 75% of the allocated tags by preference points first and the other 25% go to the random draw which would still be people who applied as first choice but didn’t have enough points. In Wyoming if a tag makes it past the first choice, it’s probably not a tag a NR public land hunter will have much use for.

General has risen a full point in 2 years, a 1/2 point each of the last two seasons. You could draw with 4, I also wouldn’t be surprised if it went to >4 this season. Best of luck.

OP
U
Yeah which is why I think 4 is gonna be close or probably be 100% this year.