Wyoming point guidance

What’s up fellow outdoorsman, I’m currently building points in Wyoming, have 3 including this year deer elk ant, my question is how many should I gather before I put in? I’m a rookie I’ve yet to put a muley or elk on the ground but I started buying points in hopes to have a quality hunt once I’ve gained enough knowledge to be successful. So assume archery elk, do I build more or throw in for the draw???? Any insight is appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BigDog00

WKR
Get on the WY G&F website and look at the draw odds for each unit. You'll be able to see what units you can draw. In WY, most units allow you to hunt the Sept. archery season then come back for rifle season if you're unsuccessful during the bowhunt.

wytx

WKR
You're right in range for General elk license. LQ areas will take many more PP than 3 to draw.
Cow tags are a great way to get your feet wet in elk country and possibly bring home some meat without breaking the bank.

LostArra

WKR
You can do both in Wyoming: continue to accumulate points and hunt elk now, well you're late for this year.

You will gain more elk hunting knowledge in a week of cow hunting than 5 years at computer screen. Then decide when and where you want to use your points.

As mentioned above, you need to actually go do an activity to gain experience. Watching and reading about others only gets you so far.

Don’t waste years of points by going in green.

Laramie

WKR