Wyoming region J

Usmcff

WKR
Hello all, I recently drew a general deer tag for Wyoming region J and was wondering if anyone had pointers on the area. This area encompasses areas 59,61,64,65. This will be my first trip out west and I have been reading a lot of the forums on here, hunt talk, fb, and many others just to get ideas of what to expect and how to hunt. I have been hunting white tails for many years and know how to butcher my own game so as of now the plans are to try and find a larger expanse of public land and hike far enough in to get away from most day hunters. I have invested in decent optics and a good gun capable of distance shots. I bought a decent frame pack, decent boots based off some recommendations here, and will be getting a good tent and sleeping back in the coming weeks. I am a veteran so I have access to expertvoice, and guidefitter and routinely check camofire. Any tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Might run into each other, I’ll be heading there from Tennessee so a 22 hour drive for me.
We just might. You have a little further hike than I do. From where i'm at in Texas it says it's about 11 hours for me.

OP
Usmcff

Usmcff

WKR
That’s not bad and yes, I’m going to try and make the trip in one day since I’ll have someone with me so alternate who drives. So far from what I’ve heard, good boots, OnX pro, lots variable gear so some cold weather and some hot weather because the weather there is erratic as ours down south, and persistence will be the key. Apparently this region is a lot of private land with some public so with us hunting public it may be a little challenging. Additionally, bad winters have killed a lot of the deer for the last 3 years or so.

wytx

WKR
Deer numbers are ok in J , depends on which part of the region you're hunting.
Be ready for any weather and have good tires on your truck, it's rocky country.
Lots of bighorn sheep in there too.
And watch for wolves, shoot on sight.

OP
Usmcff

Usmcff

WKR