Good ol paper maps and compass

With technology and map apps like onx and base maps how many still enjoy the good ol map and compass for land navigation,also how many feel that it's becoming a lost art amongst hunters?

Sent from my LG-M430 using Tapatalk

LazyV

Lil-Rokslider
It's quickly becoming or is a lost art. I use one more for terrain scouting then for navigation most of the time. Honestly, a GPS with OnX type chip is so much more useful in some circumstances, such as where I antelope hunt. Even with good landownership data on the map I think it'd be rough to navigate due to lack of landmarks to take good bearings/accurate location. Don't mind a map for a land nav exercise in the mountains but not as much fun in the desert is what I'm getting at for me.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
I always have a compass and map of the area with me, but I generally use my GPS. But when I'm studying and analyzing I always use my maps. I always go back after the season and mark specific waypoints that I put in my GPS while out there. Just adds to the bigger picture and helps for analyzing in the future........especially when you start to see trends.

SWOHTR

WKR
What would you all recommend as a good compass?

My dead reckoning skills are pretty good, but I fully recognize my void in skill between DR and electronic.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bsnedeker

WKR
What would you all recommend as a good compass?

My dead reckoning skills are pretty good, but I fully recognize my void in skill between DR and electronic.

I have a very simple base plate compass from Suunto, it's what I would recommend. I used to carry a fancy lensmatic compass but it's totally overkill for the simple way I use a compass and it's way heavier than my Suunto.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

I rely way too much on gps/ electronics. One night this fall as my battery was dying in the dark with sub zero wind chills I decided that I need to start carrying maps too.