Sitka Incinerator vs. First Lite Sanctuary

bsnedeker

WKR
I'm in the market for a new late-season outer layering system for archery season. The two systems that speak to me are the Sitka and First Lite systems, but I'm open to anything that is warm, quiet, and cut with archery in mind. I hunt in MN until the end of December so it is generally between 10-20 degrees F, but can get lower than that.

Does anyone have any recommendations on what works best for them?

mikear

Lil-Rokslider
I'm in the market for a new late-season outer layering system for archery season. The two systems that speak to me are the Sitka and First Lite systems, but I'm open to anything that is warm, quiet, and cut with archery in mind. I hunt in MN until the end of December so it is generally between 10-20 degrees F, but can get lower than that.

Does anyone have any recommendations on what works best for them?

I have no experience with Sitka products, but I can speak to the First Lite Sanctuary bibs and Woodbury Jacket.

I do not recommend hiking in these layers for a couple reasons, but most importantly is that they are too warm and you will sweat. That said, if you’re only walking a hundred yards or so through flat terrain with no briars, etc, you’d be fine opening the jacket and bib leg zippers. The outer material holds up well for daily stationary usage on the ground or in a tree. I would say the garments would get worn out busting brush, however, that’s not their intent. I pack my jacket and bibs on my pack every time I hike in.

The outer material on the Sanctuary and Woodbury garments is the same. It is very quiet, sheds light drizzle/snow well with the DWR, and is very flexible/stretchy. It doesn’t attract burrs/stickers when crossing fences, etc and setting my pack on the ground. I also like that it does not seem to stick to the tree bark when I lean back in my stands.