Stalking open country mule deer

Hunthigh1

WKR
I was fortunate to draw a 39-1 late season archery deer tag in Idaho. I am starting to realize that i have no experience stalking to bow range of deer in open sagebrush/winter range type habitat. Any tips or advice would be appreciated! I have hunted alot with a rifle and killed a few things with my bow so i understand the importance of wind, quiet clothing and the basics. Once I locate them how the hell do i get to 40 yards in the open stuff?!

The hunt will be in late November so the rut will be on and bucks will be with does. . . plenty of eyes to beat.

I would like to practice stalking tactics and visualizing the hunt during my early season hunts and as much as possible.

Would love to hear some lessons learned through failure.

Last edited:

amassi

WKR
Dont overthink it, same rules apply as a high basin or mtn buck
-Bed the buck and 6 or 7 of his closest friends
- get the wind right
- take your time
- get within 40 yards and try not to sweat to death waiting for the dumb buck to stand up from his nap
- wait some more, kick yourself for dropping your pack 60 yards ago
- wonder to yourself what would the buck do if you threw a rock at him
- make piles of throwing rocks
- wonder why as the sun gets more intense, the bucks shade gets heavier
- take 1 boot off, search for safari sneaker(its in your pack)
- sit for 15 minutes with 1 boot on, curse the desert and all its inhabitants
- ignore pain in kidneys
- try to not focus on the fact that you've stopped sweating
- try and ignore all his bachelor buck buddies that are up and milling around, changing beds
- when he lifts his head to stand, realize you've been there for 7 hours and never ranged him
- range
- shoot
- honestly not know if he just piled up 100 yards away or your hallucinating

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

OP
H

Hunthigh1

WKR
Dont overthink it, same rules apply as a high basin or mtn buck
-Bed the buck and 6 or 7 of his closest friends