Strong lifts 5x5

Jimbob

WKR
Anybody here do the Stronglifts 5x5 program. StrongLifts 5x5: The Simplest Workout To Get Stronger

How did you like it? You think it is a good program?

I guess it depends on your goals and what you want. I am looking to gain some overall strength and I like the big compound movements the program focuses on. 5 sets of 5 reps is something that is different and I have never done before so looking forward to that.

Also do you think it is important to be strong for the mountains or is it all about endurance? I am sure there are a bunch of mountain goats out there that have never squatted or deadlifted but can go for days on end hiking heavy loads. I have a feeling those guys have strong legs and backs as well though.

OP
Jimbob

Jimbob

WKR
Was just searching through the forums and I see strength and mountain hunting has been discussed already, my bad.

LostArra

WKR
I like the program and it's the main part of my strength training but being in my 60's I don't have high ceiling for continuing to add weight at each workout.

I also think cleans should be an included exercise and I do them on most days.

marktole

WKR
Stronglifts 5x5 is a pretty good, simple program. Like you said, it depends on what you want to do. Obviously I'm sure you want to get some endurance for the mountains, but if only strength was your goal I'd look into the Westside Barbell Template. You could even do Westside and supplement your training with some cardio or high intensity conditioning to keep up your endurance and have the best of both worlds.

jwatts

WKR
I have been doing it since March or April. I am enjoying it. My goals were about the same as yours. I figured doing the same workouts over and over would get boring but it hasn't. You will see some big gains at first, then they will slow down.