15 degree sleeping bag enough?

mww982

WKR
Headed to Colorado for second season in a few weeks. We are planning on setting up a basecamp but may also spike out if we get into some animals and don't want to trek back to camp. I'm planning on bringing a heavy 0-degree bag for basecamp and I have a 15-degree Feathered Friends bag that is going to go into my pack. Will the 15-degree bag be sufficient or should I look at adding a synthetic quilt to my bag as well? Would be looking at a 40-degree EE Revelation Apex or a MLD Spirit 38-degree quilt. Or would I be better off looking at a sleeping bag liner?

Joe Schroeder

ALPS OutdoorZ
Rokslide Sponsor
It will vary a little of course, but +10-15 degrees from the advertised rating is the rule of thumb for comfort range on most bags. There may have been an ISO test temperature range on the tag when you bought the bag. That will generally have a comfort range on it which is more helpful.

Personally, I take a 0 degree bag if its going to be in the mid 20's.

OP
M

mww982

WKR
It will vary a little of course, but +10-15 degrees from the advertised rating is the rule of thumb for comfort range on most bags. There may have been an ISO test temperature range on the tag when you bought the bag. That will generally have a comfort range on it which is more helpful.

Personally, I take a 0 degree bag if its going to be in the mid 20's.
Don't really want to spend the coin on a good 0 or -10 bag. I don't mind spending a couple hundred on or 40-degree quilt. I will have my puffy gear with me as well for added insulation if needed as well.

Joe Schroeder

ALPS OutdoorZ
Rokslide Sponsor
Don't really want to spend the coin on a good 0 or -10 bag. I don't mind spending a couple hundred on or 40-degree quilt. I will have my puffy gear with me as well for added insulation if needed as well.
I don't blame you at all. An insulated pad will help things as well.

OP
M

mww982

WKR
What sleeping pad are you paring with the 15 degree FF bag?