Bare shaft tuning question

TravisIN

WKR
So I’m new to this and have watched and searched the question multiple times and what I find every where is that…
Tail left with a bareshaft mean the spine is too weak, and tail right means too stiff…correct?

However while doing my own bareshafting I think I am seeing the opposite. Here’s what has me thinking that and you can tell me why I’m wrong to get it out of my mind.

I’m shooting a satori @ 45#. Using a 340 Easton 6.5mm shaft. Used various lengths and weigh combos. 50/100 grain inserts and 100/125/150 grain points. I’ve shot it full length and trimmed down to about an inch in front of my grip. Everything tailed right and was kind surprised that a full length shaft with 250 up front was still too stiff.

So I was planning to order some 400s and then thought, I’m gonna shoot it out of a 25# bow I have just too see. So I put 50 grain insert, 100 grain head on the shortest shaft I have so that it’s as stiff as possible…and it tailed left. So I go through the same spiel with the 25# bow and EVERYTHING tailed left.

Can someone point out what is probably an obvious oversight and tell me what I’ve got backwards?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Tilzbow

WKR
You’ve got it right but tuning with bare shafts is difficult unless you’re from is really good (grip and release especially) and if trying to read the arrow’s orientation in the target then the target medium can also give different readings arrow to arrow which is why some pay more attention to where the bare shaft arrow impacts the target compared to fletched arrows.

I can’t comment on your results since they’re opposite of what one would expect but a shaft that’s way too stiff can give false readings since the back end of the arrow could bang off the riser and do the opposite of what you’d expect.