New to traditional archery. Bare shaft tuning

Tegr0429

Lil-Rokslider
As the title suggest I’m brand new to traditional archery. I’ve bowhunted since I was 11 with a compound and just recently went full in on the trad bow deal.

Im trying to bare shaft tune my bow for a perfect arrow flight. With that being said I’m having one hell of a time getting it to tune correctly. Im shooting a bear grizzly 55# @28” arrows are gold tip traditional 400s at 28.5 inches. I’m shooting 3 under and a tab . Im consistently having nock right and high. I have ordered a bear elevated rest so it’ll be slightly more forgiving if my form is faltering any hopefully. Sometimes I’m shooting a perfect bullet while others seem pretty bad, could this just be a form issue?

I have a FP test kit from 3 rivers and I’m going to mess around with this more. It seems a 200 gr FP does the exact same as a 150gr. Any help or advice for this newbie would be greatly appreciated.

Rob5589

WKR
"Sometimes good" is usually a form issue. Your form has to be spot on and consistent shot to shot to achieve reliable bareshaft results. Short draw, probably stiff reading. Long draw, probably weak. Pluck it, who knows what you'll get. If you really want to see what the arrow is actually doing in flight, take slow motion video.

OP
Tegr0429

Tegr0429

Lil-Rokslider
thank you. Im shooting softball size groups at 20 and in consistently with feathered arrows. It’s a big learning curve with this trad stuff.
"Sometimes good" is usually a form issue. Your form has to be spot on and consistent shot to shot to achieve reliable bareshaft results. Short draw, probably stiff reading. Long draw, probably weak. Pluck it, who knows what you'll get. If you really want to see what the arrow is actually doing in flight, take slow motion video

Solitude

WKR
If you are softball at 20yds, you are well on your way IMO. You are going to fill the freezer, just need to get close which is the name of the game with traditional.