Boots. Old school. Leather. Sno-Seal.

Child of the 70’s and 80’s here. When I started backpacking a lot in the mid 80’s as a teen, old school leather was all there was. I was taught that before wearing them and getting them dirty, you pulled off the laces and worked sno-seal into them, often with the help of a hair dryer. Boots were an investment, in money, effort, time, and pain. But they were tough, and they lasted.

I’ve been wearing steel toed redwings for 10 years straight. They aren’t really for hiking, but they are comfortable and last, and most importantly, they come in wide sizes. My feet are shaped like squares – 10.5 EE.

I’m now starting to again contemplate some boots actually made for the mountains vs a shopfloor or jobsite, but frankly, I’m unimpressed with what I see. It doesn’t excite me to face paying near $500 for some cloth boot that I’ll probably blow the sides out of within a year.

I constantly read about people on this forum with an expensive boot and wet feet. I can tell you one thing for sure. When I sno-sealed a pair of leather boots, water was not coming in unless it was over the tops. And with a good pair of gaiters and moving fast, I could make it through small streams without water getting in.

Does anyone else on here miss old, heavy, uninsulated, non-goretex, leather hiking boots of old with a stitched on Vibram sole and a tacky coating of beeswax impregnating the leather?

When my current pair of kenetreks wears out, I will be going back to an all leather-non goretex boot. I swear my feet are wetter with waterproof boots. Maybe sooner, since I sent my kenetreks in to be checked out for leaks, they found no leaks but wanted to reshape the toe (for free..years warranty). Well, now the right one doesn't fit right anymore since the toe box is all distorted and actually smaller on the one side.

What is out there that fits your description?

wyodan

WKR