Calling all yee tile setters

4rcgoat

WKR
Tore out an old fiberglass shower in the basement, want to do a tile shower. Standard 5' width bathroom. Can I make a curb myself with some forms and mortar mix? Would redi mix concrete be better? Should it be doweled into the slab? Rebar or mesh?.........dumb idea?

For the curb I've done 2x4's or 2x6's to get whatever height and width you want the curb to be, leave enough of your oatey membrane to lay over the top of the boards, then your durock over that, and then your mortar and tile.

^^ What Nick said. Hardy 1/2“ tile cement board is easier to work with than Durarock. Seam seal the tile board with fiberglass tape and thin set. RedGard or similar waterproofing compound over cement board. Same if you build a bench/seat and relief between studs for shampoo shelf etc.

justpassingthru

Lil-Rokslider
I do the stuff for a living and I agree with the Schluter system. Get one of their shower pans that fits the area best, trim it down as needed. And get their drain system. Very much worth the money. For the walls cement board/hardie with a liquid waterproofing is good. Maybe the best option is a product called GoBoard, very easy to install. You just seal the seams with their caulk. Use the Schluter Kerdi band where the shower floor (pan) meets the walls. I’ve installed dozens of showers this way and I’ve never had a problem

Fatcamp

WKR
Ya, I'm an RN now but set tile for 15 years. It's the only way I would do it, and I could dry pack float the whole thing if I wanted.

I would also go the schluter pan route. I happened to find a regular pan that would work in the space with the screwing bench I built in, so opted out on the schluter.

I used GP DensShield for my backer. It was pretty easy to work with and I like the built in membrane. If I were going to build my own curb, this is what I would use.

Deadfall

WKR